Aaliyah biopic…My opinion on the movie

So as many of us know “Lifetime” premiered the Aaliyah biopic on November 15, 2014. As a fan just like many of you I thought that movie should have either been left alone and or waited until it could have been done correctly. Shame, shame, shame on Wendy Williams and her team for thinking that type of work was acceptable especially to her legacy, family and fans. For one thing I felt like the actress that played Aaliyah ” Alexandra Shipp”  looked nothing like her, nor did she have her style and not to mention the singing and dancing was absolutely horrible. To me it seemed like the main focus was to talk about her relationship with R.Kelly which seemed to drag on and on and on throughout the movie. The main focus was NOT her legacy and all the great thing she accomplished or how much of a role model she was to young women, or how in love she was with her current beau at the time Damon Dash. Missy and Timberland were not at all accurately portrayed. UGH!!!!! the list definitely goes on, but I had to express my opinion since I am such a fan of the late Aaliyah. I do hear the family plans on putting together another movie about her for the big screen, since they did not co-sign or approve of this movie. Take a look at the pictures below and comment your take on the movie.( I apologize for the grammar, went on a rant)

Cast Members

Alexandra Shipp- Aaliyah

Chattrisse Dolabaille- Missy Elliot

Izaak Smith- Timberland

Anthony Grant- Damon Dash

Unknown-R.Kelly

aaliyah biopic 3

aaliyah biopic 2

aaliyah biopicaaliyah biopic 4

Leave a comment